THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT SAN ANTONIO

DOCUMENTS AND PROCEEDINGS OF THE GENERAL FACULTY

SUMMARY MINUTES OF THE FACULTY SENATE MEETING of May 5, 2016

The regular monthly meeting of the Faculty Senate for the 2015-2016 academic year was held May 5, 2016, at 3:30 p.m. in the Assembly Room (JPL 2.04.22) with Dr. Karen Daas, Chair of the Faculty Senate, presiding.

I. Call to order and taking of attendance

Present: Saadet Beeson, Karan Bhanot, Christie Blizard, Emily Bonner, Janis Bush, Pepe Chang, Karen Daas, James Dawes, Glenn Dietrich, Karen Dodwell, Jim Dykes, Martha Fasci, John Frederick, Yongli Gao, Edgar Ghossoub, Mark Giles, Dmitry Gokhman, Vaidya Gundlupet, Ruyan Guo, Jamon Halvaksz, Richard Harris, Gregory Hazleton, Jill Hernandez, Turgay Korkmaz, Aneta Koynova, Richard Lewis, Chad Mahood, Wing Chung Ng, John Nix, Derek Plantenga, Lloyd Potter, Teresa Sellers, Howard Smith, Kelly Suter, Liang Tang, Alistair Welchman, Christopher Wickham, Karen Williams, John Zhang

Absent: Jennifer Alexander, Michael Baumann, Rajesh Bhargave, Jackie Cuevas, Samer Dessouky, Michael Karcher, Rui Liu, Randall Manteufel, Byongook Moon, Michael Moyer (excused), Ashok Nedungadi, Chris Packham, Dan Sass (excused)

Guests: Brian Davies, Ray Garza, Rao Govindaraju (for Randall Manteufel), Richard Jones, Crystal Kalinec-Craig, Mike Miller, Rogelio Palomera-Arias, Sarah Soulek

Total members present: 39 Total members absent: 13

- II. Consent Calendar
 - Approval of minutes April 21, 2016 Approved.

III. Reports

 A. Chair's Report – Karen Daas
 Dr. Daas announced that there were some items on the agenda under unfinished business and new business that would be covered at today's meeting. She presented each of the senators with an appreciation certificate and pin, and thanked them for their service on the Faculty Senate.

IV. Election of Standing Committee Members for 2016-2017

The senate voted to unanimously approve the slate of candidates for all standing committees as presented by the Nominating, Elections, and Procedures committee.

Results of the Election can be found in Appendix A.

- V. Reports, con't.
 - B. Curriculum Committee Alistair Welchman

Dr. Welchman introduced 3 proposals that were reviewed by the curriculum committee:

- 1. BA and Minor in Politics and Law The committee recommended approval of the proposal. The senate voted to unanimously approve the committee's recommendation.
- 2. 2016-2017 proposed undergraduate catalog The committee recommended approval of the undergraduate catalog, pending a few minor, clarifying changes that can be worked out in the departments. The senate voted to unanimously approve the committee's recommendation.
- 3. Name change "BA in Geography" to "BA in Geography and Environmental Sustainability" The committee recommended approval of the proposal. The senate voted to approve the committee's recommendation by a vote of: 29 approve
 5 oppose
 2 abstentions
- VI. Unfinished Business
 - HOP 5.09 Class Attendance

Dr. Daas said that additional clarification had been requested for this policy, which was received. She reminded everyone that they can opt-in to the instructor-initiated drop policy, but it's not mandatory. If utilized, faculty must include relevant information in their syllabus, such as the number of absences required to be dropped from a course. However, if a student is dropped before the census date, that drop will not count in a faculty member's number of "W"s. The university's official reporting mechanism currently used is ASAP. The policy should be ready for implementation in the fall. It was confirmed that the different types of "F"s (F -

failed; F – stopped attending, etc.) are separated out within the data for colleges to get a better picture of the reason for the "F". A few small changes were requested from senators including changing the wording from "12th class day" to "census date" and specifying that this applies to undergraduates only. The senate voted to approve the policy with these changes by a vote of: 26 approve 7 oppose 4 abstentions

- VII. New Business
 - DFW Resolution

Dr. Daas said that the senate's executive committee had drafted a resolution that would be sent to each of the Deans, if approved. The Faculty Senate voted to unanimously approve the following resolution:

"Given that all course prerequisites for non-UTSA students have been waived and that summer courses are offered in a condensed format, summer DFW rates should not be considered in faculty members' performance and teaching evaluation."

VI. Open Forum

Dr. Frederick thanked Dr. Daas, Dr. Hernandez, and all the members of the senate for their work throughout the year.

Dr. Frederick and Dr. Daas invited everyone to join them next door for the annual Faculty Senate mixer.

VIII. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion to adjourn was made, seconded, and unanimously passed at 4:50 p.m.

Appendix A Senate Committees

Officers and Executive Committee	
Emily Bonner *	Chair

Karen Daas *	Past Faculty Senate Chair		
John Nix *	Vice Chair		
Mike Baumann *	Chair, Graduate Council		
Jill Hernandez *	Secretary of the General Faculty		
Chad Mahood *	Secretary		
Dan Sass *	Parliamentarian		
Kelly Suter *	Chair, Academic Freedom, Eval, and N	Chair, Academic Freedom, Eval, and Merit Committee	
John Nix *	Chair, Budget Committee		
Glenn Dietrich *	Chair, HOP Committee		
Chad Mahood *	Chair, NEP Committee		
Chris Packham *	Chair, FS Research Committee		
Alistair Welchman *	Chair, Curriculum Committee		
Academic Freedom, Evo	aluation, and Merit Committee	Exp Date:	
Rajesh Bhargave *	СОВ	8/31/2017	
Christopher Wickham *	COLFA	8/31/2017	
Lloyd Potter *	СОРР	8/31/2017	
Samar Dessouky *	COE	8/31/2017	
Randall Manteufel *	COE	8/31/2017	
Michael Moyer *	COEHD	8/31/2017	
Teresa Sellers *	COEHD	8/31/2017	
Richard Harris *	СОРР	8/31/2017	
Saadet Beeson *	САСР	8/31/2018	
Michael Karcher *	COEHD	8/31/2018	
Dan Sass *	СОВ	8/31/2018	
Kelly Suter * CHAIR	COS	8/31/2019	
Budget Committee		Exp Date:	
John Nix * CHAIR	Faculty Senate Vice Chair/COLFA	N/A	
Martha Fasci *	СОВ	8/31/2018	
James Dawes *	САСР	8/31/2019	
David Hansen *	COLFA	8/31/2019	
John Zhang *	COEHD	8/31/2019	
Vaidya Gundlupet *	COLFA	8/31/2019	
Natasha Burns *	СОВ	8/31/2019	
Michael Miller *	COLFA	8/31/2019	
Lucila Ek *	COEHD	8/31/2019	
Nominating, Elections,	Exp Date:		
Chad Mahood * CHAIR	Faculty Senate Secretary/COLFA	N/A	
Derek Plantenga *	СОРР	8/31/2018	

Christie Blizard *	COLFA	8/31/2018
Jennifer Alexander *	СОРР	8/31/2018
Dmitry Gokhman *	COS	8/31/2018
Ashok Nedungadi *	COE	8/31/2018
Crystal Kalinec-Craig *	COEHD	8/31/2019
Committee on Handbook	of Operating Procedures	Exp Date:
John Nix *	Faculty Senate Vice Chair/COLFA	N/A
TBD *	Department Chair Council	N/A
Glenn Dietrich * CHAIR	СОВ	8/31/2017
Aneta Koynova *	COS	8/31/2018
Edgar Ghossoub *	СОВ	8/31/2018
Vaidya Gundlupet *	COLFA	8/31/2019
Chris Packham *	COS	8/31/2019
David Thompson *	COEHD	8/31/2019
Rogelio Palomera-Arias *	САСР	8/31/2019
Walter Ermler *	COS	8/31/2019
Michael Baumann *	Grad Council	8/31/2019
Faculty Senate Research	Committee	Exp Date:
Jamon Halvaksz *	COLFA	8/31/2018
Ruyan Guo *	COE	8/31/2018
Chris Packham * CHAIR	COS	8/31/2018
Byongook Moon *	СОРР	8/31/2019
Hongjie Xie *	COS	8/31/2019
Jackie Cuevas *	COLFA	8/31/2019
		Exp Date:
University Curriculum Co		
Pepe Chang *	COB	8/31/2017
Gregory Hazleton *	COLFA/University College	8/31/2018
Liang Tang *	COE	8/31/2019
Alistair Welchman * CHAIR	COLFA	8/31/2019
Martha Fasci *	СОВ	8/31/2019
Turgay Korkmaz *	COS	8/31/2019
Ray Garza *	COLFA	8/31/2019
Brian Davies *	COLFA	8/31/2019